THE TROUGH: Indian Chicken in Cashew-Cilantro Sauce

IT’S CILANTRO SEASON! That means 2 things. One, endless guacamole. I don’t need to tell you why that is awesome. Two, the easiest, tastiest way to prepare chicken using the cilantro you may or may not (no judgement) have grown in your garden. This awesome cookbook was given to me by my brother and sister-in-law for my birthday a few years ago. I looked at the title and I thought, “What are they trying to tell me?” But it is awesome and easy. And VERY well balanced. If you don’t have it, check it out. This recipe has 6 ingredients. SIX!!!! (I didn’t count the optional one; I can read). Add a few sides and BAM!

  • 1 cup packed fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup unsalted roasted cashews (I usually use salted cashews and leave out the salt)
  • 1 cup reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 tsp salt (see above)
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • Juice of 1 Lime
  • Crushed red-pepper flakes (optional).
These are the ingredients!!  That's it!

These are the ingredients!! That’s it!

Add 1 cup packed cilantro and 1/2 cup cashews into processor.

Add 1 cup packed cilantro and 1/2 cup cashews into processor.

Grab your favorite food processor and start blending the cilantro and cashews until it makes a paste.

Grab your favorite food processor and start blending the cilantro and cashews until it makes a paste.

Add the stock slowly while you continue to blend. **Note it is hard to take a picture while adding stock and pressing the buttons.  I am not an octopus!

Add the cilantro/cashew/stock mixture into pan and reheat to a boil on medium heat.  This is where you should add salt if you want.  Thanks Scott for the awesome pose in the background!

Add the cilantro/cashew/stock mixture into pan and reheat to a boil on medium heat. This is where you should add salt if you want. Thanks Scott for the awesome pose in the background!

Once the sauce is warmed back up, put in chicken thighs and cover both sides with that yummy green stuff.  Simmer about 15 minutes and make sure to turn those babies once or twice.

Once the sauce is warmed back up, put in chicken thighs and cover both sides with that yummy green stuff. Simmer about 15 minutes and make sure to turn those babies once or twice.

Once they are cooked, add the juice of 1 lime and stir.  You are now ready to serve!

Once they are cooked, add the juice of 1 lime and stir. You are now ready to serve!

 VOILA! I usually serve it with brown basmati rice and peas (and maybe a glass of wine, or two).

VOILA! I usually serve it with brown basmati rice and peas (and maybe a glass of wine or two).

EASIEST MEAL EVER! And yes, my kids eat it!

Approximate Nutritional Stats:

  • 4 servings
  • 230 Calories (with 1/2 cup of rice and 1/2 cup peas approximate 400 calories)
  • 26g Protein
  • 7g Carbohydrates
  • 9g Fat (probably more because I switched the original recipe from breasts to thighs)
  • 2g Saturated Fat (see above)
  • 65mg cholesterol
  • 340mg sodium
  • 1g Fiber

Side Note: So every evening while I prepare dinner a dance party starts in the kitchen. It is a dance party for one, which are sometimes (OK, a lot of the times) the best. My hubby rolls in around 6pm most nights and luckily for me, Wild Kratts is on at 5pm. THANK YOU PBS! An hour of cooking and music is my usual nightly routine. It brings a smile to my face (so I’m not pissed about the 1000x I told Leo NOT to sit on his brother’s face), allows me to regroup from the day, and puts me in a better mood. And who doesn’t want to walk into the house with music blaring and your wife practicing her “Pop, Lock and Drop it?” That part isn’t necessarily true, but dancing is a GREAT core workout not to mention, always good for the butt!

Sally’s Dinner Dance Party Playlist:

  • Busta Move – Young MC
  • Hey Ya! – OutKast
  • No Diggity – Blackstreet
  • Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It – Will Smith
  • Low (feat. T-Pain) – Flo Rida
  • Groove is in the Heart – Dee-Lite
Leave a Reply

