THE TROUGH: Tofu Spring Roll Bowls

Thai Food: Is there anything better? I would leg wrestle anyone to prove me otherwise. While traveling through Thailand, my husband and I had numerous spring rolls. Tofu, no tofu. Mint, no mint. All were like a summer party in your mouth. Those yummy ones that have those perfectly shaved carrots and magically applied rice paper. As you might have noticed, time is tight in this house with 3 kids and a husband who can probably out-eat a 400 lb man (so unfair!). I have found a way to make fresh veggie spring rolls without all the fuss and without getting my fingers all wrapped up in rice paper. For those ingredients I cannot produce in my garden (either by timing or ability), I buy my Asian ingredients at my favorite market, United Noodles. I am so lucky to live in this city.

Tofu Spring Roll Bowls

Assemble:

  • 2-3 tsp Sesame Oil
  • 1 Package Rice Noodles
  • 1 Cucumber diced
  • 1-2 Medium Carrots diced
  • 1/3c Peanut Butter
  • 2/3c Mae Ploy Sweet Chili Sauce
  • 2 boxes Firm Tofu
  • Fresh Mint
  • Spinach
Gather all your ingredients.  And fire up your wok with about 2-3 tsp of sesame oil on high heat.

Gather all your ingredients. Fire up your wok with about 2-3 tsp of sesame oil on high heat.

Start to fry your tofu in the sesame oil.  I usually cover it with the lid and turn only a few times.  Takes about 10 min to get all sides perfect.

Start to fry your tofu in the sesame oil. I usually cover it with the lid and turn only a few times. Takes about 10 min to get all sides perfect. When done, remove tofu from heat and place into a bowl or plate for serving up later.

Dice up all your ingredients.  The cucumber should be peeled and seeded.  I also mince up some fresh mint to put on the top!

Dice up all your ingredients. The cucumber should be peeled and seeded. I also mince up some fresh mint to put on the top!

IMG_0901

While you are cooking your rice noodles according to the package, mix the 1/3c peanut butter and 2/3c sweet chili sauce in a bowl.

Once all ingredients are cooked,  assemble the bowls (or as we do plates).  Put spinach at the bottom, next noodles, the diced up veggies and tofu, sauce and mint.

Once all ingredients are cooked, assemble the bowls (or as we do plates). Put spinach at the bottom, next noodles, the diced up veggies and tofu, sauce and mint.

Now you can enjoy some spring rolls anytime. It is quick.  It is healthy.  And it tastes a little like Thailand.

Sally’s Dinner Dance Party Playlist:

  • Jealous – Nick Jonas
  • Teenage Dream – Katy Perry
  • Bust a Move – Young MC
  • Not a Bag Thing – Justin Timberlake
  • Tik Tok – Ke$ha
  • I Got a Feeling – The Black Eyed Peas
  • Just a Girl – No Doubt
  • Man in the Mirror – Michael Jackson
Leave a Reply

