The TROUGH: Surgical Smoothies

Smoothies: a nutritional staple of any athlete. They give you those difficult to obtain last grams of  protein. They sneak in the last few recommended servings of fruits and vegetables. Plus, they are like summer in a cup. Or like liquid ice cream. And there is not a person in my life that does not know I love me some ice cream.

I had the opportunity lately to experience the best of the smoothie world; unfortunately, not due to any type of athletic achievement, workout or gain. It was solely because I couldn’t open my mouth more than a 1/4 inch due to a surgery. In April, I found out I had a tumor (it’s benign, don’t worry) in my parotid salivary gland. Unfortunately, I did still have to have it removed due to doctor’s recommendations and a yearly deductible. I placed the surgery perfectly between events. The Cookie Run and Ragnar had just finished and I was not due to do any working out until Beach Fest (my family’s annual gathering at the lake) was over. Perfect Timing. Little did I know, complications would develop post-op and would prevent me from working out my hardest (notice, I still workout) and complete all my summer events, but that is neither here nor there. More about this later when I discuss how you regain what you lost during recovery.

THANK YOU to all my amazing friends that contributed to my healthy body while I was recovering. I can not believe how lucky I am to have so many people appreciate and understand nutrition and why a good diet is important whether in solid or liquid form.

So without further ado….the collection of surgical smoothie recipes. May your workouts and/or surgical recoveries be better because of them.

Smoothie 1: 

Tropical Flavors Protein Shake (courtesy of Becky Berg)

  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • 1/2 ripe banana
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup fresh pineapple chunks
  • 1/3 cup fresh mango chunks
  • 1/3 cup ice cubes

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend away until desired consistency.

Smoothie 2:

A Hint of Mint Green Smoothie (courtesy of Becky Berg)

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3/4 cup green grapes
  • 2 cups loosely packed fresh spinach leaves
  • 6 fresh mint leaves
  • 2 1/2 cups pineapple chunks (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 cup ice cubes

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend away until desired consistency.

Smoothie 3:

Super Healing Smoothie (courtesy of Aliina Adelman)

  • 1/2 cup frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 cup kale chopped
  • 1 scoop protein powder

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend away until desired consistency.

Smoothie 4:

Berry Smoothie (courtesy of Aliina Adelman)

  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1 scoop protein powder

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend away until desired consistency.

Smoothie 5:

Dirty Chai (courtesy of Jennie Lanners)

  • 1-2 cups milk
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • 3-5 ice cubes of chai (frozen)
  • 1 packet of instant coffee
  • 4 ice cubes

Place milk and protein powder into a cup and mix. After protein powder is dissolved, add the rest of the ingredients into a cup.

Smoothie 6:

Like my nuts? I mean, my coconut smoothie? (courtesy of Alice Kirchhoff)

  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups Greek yogurt (sadly, purchasing Greek yogurt does not help the Greek economy)
  • 8 oz coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp fresh mint
  • 1 cup pineapple
  • 1 medium banana
  • a few ice cubes, if you’re in the mood

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend away until desired consistency. Please note: Alice sucks at measuring things that aren’t PRs, so all measurements are approximate.

 

Leave a Reply

